Call: (315) 598-4717

Toni Ross Receives OCO’s Whelahan Award

Toni Ross Receives OCO’s Whelahan Award

Toni Ross, Collaboration Manager for OCO Crisis and Development Services, is the recipient of the agency’s prestigious Amelia Whelahan Leadership Award.

Presented annually, and selected by the Board of Directors, OCO’s Amelia Whelahan Leadership Award recognizes a staff member who has made outstanding contributions to OCO and the Human Services profession. The award is given in the memory of Amelia Whelahan, a dedicated and committed member of the OCO family for many years. Welahan served on the agency’s Board of Directors, its Planning and Evaluation Committee, and as its President. For Welahan’s many contributions and accomplishments, the Board of Directors recognizes her memory by honoring a distinguished employee with this award each year.

Since joining OCO 19 years ago Ross has worked for several of OCO’s programs and is a strong advocate for OCO consumers and staff. She was recognized for her forward thinking and cutting edge strategies that lead to the empowerment of individuals served by OCO, particularly those who are disconnected or disenfranchised.

“I have had the opportunity to work with Toni in different capacities, as a peer and supervisor,” said OCO Health Services Coordinator Ellen Lazarek. “She is a tireless advocate for those she serves. I admire her willingness to handle tough, and sometimes uncomfortable, situations with compassion and strength. Toni is a leader who knows her strengths, fosters growth among her team, and learns from the past. Toni’s experience, growth, and teamwork make her a deserving of this award.”

Pictured here from left, are OCO Board President Jeff Coakley of Oswego Health, Whelahan Award Recipient Toni Ross, Director of Crisis & Development Services Cristy King, and OCO Executive Director Diane Cooper-Currier.

Scenes from OCO's Annual Meeting April 9, 2019

Circles of Security changed our lives
Circles of Security is topic of Annual Meeting guest speakers
Congratulations to Whelahan Award winner
Diane Cooper-Currier and Ron Darrow
Finance Director recognized for service
Howard Wilcox Volunteer of the Year Award presented to John Zanewych
New Board Members welcomed
OCO Ex Dir Diane Cooper-Currier and retiring Board of Directors Treasurer Ron Darrow